Writer’s Quote Wednesday : Mitch Albom

Do you have a go to cafe when you want to feel you belong somewhere?

Or a friend you can always turn to when you need an ear to listen or a shoulder to lean to?

I have both and I have a go to book … I always have my Mitch Albom collection that I can always turn to when I need to be knocked back to reality when I feel that life is unfair or I feel lost because I don’t get what I want or to where I want to go.

mitch-albom-books

Which ever title I could get my hands to it always seems to be the right one that helps me see a different perspective of the rut I maybe into and there’s always a feel good after taste to it. His stories are simply told, relatable and practical that is why I find it easy to re-read as needed.

Mitch Abloom

Here’s one quote from The Timekeeper book  that resonates to what many of us.

How much time do we have left?

In the kind of world we are living in, taking it slow means not getting there fast or being there early we regret we could have prepared more.  There is always an element of time that either we regret we lost them or we wish we have more.

Having been off the rat race for a while I now learn to appreciate what I have in my hands — time, to be with my family, to discover what I really want to know, to meet new friends and more. It centers me to know what is really important now while trying to reconcile with my regret from the past and to wait for what the future brings.

Listen to The Timekeeper and let it transport you to what is important and let you be reminded to value every moment of every day.

Who is Mitch Albom? 

Mitch Albom and wife Janine

He’s an internationally renowned and best-selling author, journalist, screenwriter, playwright, radio and television broadcaster and musician. His books have collectively sold more than 35 million copies worldwide

Born on May 23, 1958 in Passaic, New Jersey

Education and Passion : He earned a bachelor’s degree in 1979 at Brandeis University in Waltham, Massachusetts, majoring in sociology, but stayed true to his dream of a life in music, and upon graduation, he worked for several years as a performer, both in Europe and America. In his early 20’s, while living in New York, he took an interest in journalism and volunteered to work for a local weekly paper, the Queens Tribune. He eventually returned to graduate school, earning a Master’s degree from Columbia University’s Graduate School of Journalism, followed by an MBA from Columbia University’s Graduate School of Business. During this time, he paid his tuition partly through work as a piano player.

Mitch eventually turned full-time to his writing, working as a freelance sports journalist in New York for publications such as Sports Illustrated, GEO, and The Philadelphia Inquirer. His first full time newspaper job was as a feature writer and eventual sports columnist for The Fort Lauderdale News and Sun Sentinel in Florida.

Marriage and First Book : In 1995, he married Janine Sabino. That same year he re-encountered Morrie Schwartz, a former college professor who was dying of ALS, also known as Lou Gehrig’s disease. His visits with Schwartz would lead to the book Tuesdays with Morrie, which moved Mitch away from sports and began his career as an internationally recognized author.

More information about his life and his writing at http://www.mitchalbom.com 


Friends if you wish to share your quotes and stories about your love of books and the authors you awriters-quote-wed-20151dmire and influence your writing do join us at Writer’s Quote Wednesday hosted by Silver Threading.

Have a great day!

3 comments

  1. Pingback: Writer’s Quote Wednesday Weekly Wrap-Up from 4/15/15 | Silver Threading
    • D · April 22, 2015

      Thanks Coleen as always 🙂 Have a nice day!

      Like

  2. Silver Threading · April 22, 2015

    Wow! Another author I must read. I love the reference to time. So true. We never seem to have enough! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Share to me your thoughts ... I like to know you more.

