Writer’s Quote Wednesday : Paulo Coelho

PauloCoelho2

What more can I say?

The quote very much said who we ought to be … ourselves.

But before Paulo Coelho became a sensation, the very words were told to me by my mom – “que sera sera” and my teachers growing up. Its the words carried through and passed on to young people who cannot wait to see what the world offers, like me once.

Believing in yourself gives you the boost, the confidence, the drive to get what you want and to be who you want to be. We have what it takes to succeed in life, to write and tell a good story, to heal people and to paint color in the grey world.

That is how we should live our lives — believing that we are meant for success and believing that we can achieve it.

The Author:

Not yet a big fan of Paulo Coelho but I know he has cult following that maybe lived through his quotes and books. One day I will get to read one of his book and live it too, but for now I leave you his quote and a little bit more about him.

 Paulo Coelho was born in Brazil and attended a Jesuit school. As a teenager, Coelho wanted to become a writer. Upon telling his mother this, she responded with "My dear, your father is an engineer. He's a logical, reasonable man with a very clear vision of the world. Do you actually know what it means to be a writer?" After researching, which was common for him since he was a policy debater when he was in high school, Coelho concluded that a writer "always wears glasses and never combs his hair" and has a "duty and an obligation never to be understood by his own generation," amongst other things.At 17, Coelho's introversion and opposition to following a traditional path led to his parents committing him to a mental institution from which he escaped three times before being released at the age of 20. Coelho later remarked that "It wasn't that they wanted to hurt me, but they didn't know what to do... They did not do that to destroy me, they did that to save me." http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paulo_Coelho

Friends if you wish to share your quotes and stories about your love of books and the authors you awriters-quote-wed-20151dmire and influence your writing do join us at Writer’s Quote Wednesday hosted by Silver Threading.

5 comments

  1. Pingback: Writer’s Quote Wednesday Weekly Wrap-Up from 2/18/15 | Silver Threading
  2. Ameena k.g · February 20, 2015

    I recently got his book “The Alchemist” but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. Thanks for sharing about him, now I know the man behind the wonderful quotes I read 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • D · February 21, 2015

      I’m glad I could help on something … enjoy the book!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. luciledegodoy · February 20, 2015

    Excellent post. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D · February 20, 2015

      Welcome Lucile 🙂

      Like

Share to me your thoughts ... I like to know you more.

