A Year Older

When I was born at day break

I cried to let them know

I arrived

Felt the slap and I wailed louder

I am alive and healthy

And watch out for me

I am ready

to face the challenges of infancy.

I suckled at my mother’s breasts

The first drop of its milk

To my hungry mouth

The nourishment of love

Only a mother could give.

I faced indeed a lot until I reached this stage,

The mid-life of my being,

Of who I am and who I became.

As I continue to live the life

According to the dictates of my heart

And of my soul.

Opening another chapter

As I celebrate

A year older

A little wiser and bolder

And pursue what I left behind

And face more of the challenges

God put in front of me

From today until the next candle to blow.

Happy birthday to me today!

3 comments

  1. milankagiordano · February 14, 2015

    Happy Birthday D…. May you have a wonderful day celebrating and being loved. 🙂

    Like

  2. Silver Threading · February 14, 2015

    Happy birthday sweet friend. 💖

    Like

Share to me your thoughts ... I like to know you more.

