Days leading to the new year …

In a few days we would be singing Auld Lang Syne to 2014 and welcoming 2015 and I am sure everybody is preparing on how they will celebrate the countdown to the new year and planning on what to do – to start – to continue in the coming days and months of the year of the wooden sheep. It’s the trade-off during this time of the holiday season and nobody can escape the time to make room for the new things to look forward to in the coming year.

Watching the TV I am already seeing shows after shows of psychic predictions on what the year would be like for those born on the year of the animals — like horse, snake and pigs etc. There should also be colors that could attract luck in your life, love and business and of course for those that wanted to attack a man or woman in their life and eventually marry – yes, marry, they should put red roses on the north-east corner of their house. How guaranteed is that? well, I don’t know I never tried any of those but I think for predictions to work you have the believe them. I think the “mind over matter” or the “power of suggestions” on play when you’re given those information in the box.

Transfiguration_by_Feofan_Grek_from_Spaso-Preobrazhensky_Cathedral_in_Pereslavl-Zalessky_(15th_c,_Tretyakov_gallery)Philippines is a cross between Catholic mysticism believing in the miracles brought on by our faith in God, the saints and the other celestial beings (and other faith) and animism where we believe in what the signs of the earth brings us – through crystals, the sun and the animals.

For me, it’s on my belief in God,  my faith tells me that my future depends on God’s plans for me. But it’s not hard to find people who believe in luck with charms or crystals and other ornaments that can bring in more prosperity, peace and whatever you want to achieve. Others may also link it to the rich Chinese cultures we have, brought by the Chinese migrants known to have charted the stars long before Galileo Galilee invented the telescope.

But whatever the new year brings and what faith practice you (we) have I am sure it will be according to how you play your part in it – no prayers, no star constellation or charms can change your life if you do not act on it or do something to change your life.

The new year is all about you and of course of love and friendship and as the song / poem goes …

we’ll tak’ a cup o’ kindness yet,
for auld lang syne.

Happy preparation to 2015!

Share to me your thoughts ... I like to know you more.

