Writer’s Quote Wednesday : Frederick Douglas

The most important life skill is READING.

It emancipates you to be your own person.

That is why I chose this message for this weeks writer’s quote because it very much express my desire that all people should be free — all people should read.

When I was growing up my parents surround us with books – I grew up with Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys and books that you can choose your own ending. When older my choices got older too and now I fancy just about anything but I am still bias to crime novels and biographies.

In the Philippines, in the 80’s we have fascination with Encyclopedia that most houses I visited have these books displayed across the parlor for everyone to see. Before computer become an “in-thing” in school  we have SRA and workbooks that we thumbed all the time to get to the next page. We even have contest in speed reading and I think that helped me survived university because of the kinds of books we have to read back then.

Now everything is made easy. Library still do exists while e-readers are becoming more affordable so there’s no excuse for young people to not read. But remember also there are places that are deprived of access to books – donate! your old books can go a long way.

Help yourself be free – read books! 

Help others to be free – donate books! 


 

About the author Frederick Douglass


 

 

writers-quote-wednesdayIf you wish to share your own quotes do join us every Wednesday – click on the badge to go to Silver Threading site

 

 

 

5 comments

  1. Sandi · November 26, 2014

    The photo with the birds is wonderful; yes, reading does unlock so much.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Writer’s Quote Wednesday–Junot Diaz | Silver Threading
  3. kaygy · November 20, 2014

    I love this quote!! Turns out I’m not the only Hardy boys fan ;). Reading truly is a mind freer.

    Liked by 2 people

    • D · November 20, 2014

      Hey we can form a club! 😀
      It is very entertaining … we can go to places beyond imagination 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • kaygy · November 21, 2014

        Haha, I know right! Wouldn’t that be fun. A hardy boys fan club 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Share to me your thoughts ... I like to know you more.

