Say It With Music

Music had been a constant companion wherever I go.

It keeps me less homesick , less tired, less sad … it gladens my heart whenever I am surrounded by music.

I carry with me my ever loyal iPod every mission.  It has over 10,000 songs and growing, thanks to the people I met over the years, they added twinkle in my psyche through their music.

Even my choice of music evolved as I got older, it becomes bolder.  I learned to appreciate music from different genre, like with movies, I enjoyed listening to world music and the sounds of the wild.

I share with you some of the music that filled my life over the years – there’s too many of them to fit here but a glimpse of how it comforts me when I am All By Myself 

When I am happy I play my New Wave collections if not my Acoustic collection.

When I am cleaning the house Luciano Pavarotti is a regular followed by those of Handel, Bach and sometimes Chopin, there are times  it’s Richard Clayderman and always at the maximum volume.

When I am relaxing on Saturday morning I play  the Billboard collections — I have those the goes back from year 60’s to present time in almost all genre.

Homesick of course would be OPM — Bandemonium and let all the nostalgia go.

When I feel like dancing I often play either African or Latin beat but more on the former than the latter simply because my middle name is not grace.

When I am sad and I want to really feel the part — as in acting out, I gravitate to Soul music or the Love Songs that when in other moods I find cheesy.

When in love — depends on what the bf put together 😉

But whatever mood I am in or where I am or what I am doing … music is constant. It’s an expression of feelings at a given time and situation and when you are lost of words, say it in music … better yet, sing it.


Angel

I never get tired of listening to beautiful music … they find their way in my iPod and becomes a mainstay.  Some are happy songs some are not but equally beautiful.

For today, I invite you to listen to 3 of my favorite artist interpreting In The Arms of the Angel — Sarah McLachlan, Pink and Josh Groban. The inspiration for the music maybe tragic but the message is clear she said it is –

"trying not to take responsibility for other people's problems and trying to love yourself at the same time" Sarah McLachlan

Spend all your time waiting
For that second chance
For a break that would make it okay
There’s always some reason
To feel not good enough
And it’s hard at the end of the day

I need some distraction
Or a beautiful release
Memories seep from my veins
Let me be empty
Oh and weightless and maybe
I’ll find some peace tonight

In the arms of the angel
Fly away from here
From this dark cold hotel room
And the endlessness that you fear

You are pulled from the wreckage
Of your silent reverie
You’re in the arms of the angel
May you find some comfort here

So tired of the straight line
And everywhere you turn
There’s vultures and thieves at your back
The storm keeps on twisting
Keep on building the lies
That you make up for all that you lack

It don’t make no difference
Escaping one last time
It’s easier to believe
In this sweet madness
Oh this glorious sadness
That brings me to my knees

In the arms of the angel
Fly away from here
From this dark cold hotel room
And the endlessness that you fear

You are pulled from the wreckage
Of your silent reverie
You’re in the arms of the angel
May you find some comfort here

You’re in the arms of the angel
May you find some comfort here

Songwriters
Sarah Mc Lachlan

Have a good Friday.

4 comments

  1. Russel Ray Photos · October 26, 2014

    My music collection comprises over a million individual digital files. It takes me about nine months to listen to everything, which I do in chronological order. I grew up year by year, so I listen to my music year by year, too, which brings back all sorts of memories.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D · October 27, 2014

      wow over a million … I have space in my pod so I can still aim for more 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Russel Ray Photos · October 27, 2014

        I’ve been collecting music since 1966, but it seems that every time I get a huge collection, they change the format and I have to start all over again…… vinyl LPs, reel-to-reel, eight track tape, cassette, CDs, digital WAV, and now digital MP3. When will it stop??????…………LOL

        Like

        • D · October 27, 2014

          the price of technology … we need more space for more upgrades 🙂
          i have music from those era and i enjoy listening to them 60’s has a lot of blues and jazz in my collections

          Liked by 1 person

Share to me your thoughts ... I like to know you more.

